The 8 Keys To A Blessed Life (Beatitudes) – Part 1

IT DEPENDS ON WHO YOU DEPEND ON

Rick Warren
April 26-27, 2014

My notes from the sermon. Check the whole sermon at http://www.saddleback.com

“BLESSED are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.”(NIV) MATTHEW 5:3

  • “God blesses those who realize their need for him . . .” (NLT)
  • “. . . who recognize they are spiritually helpless . . .” (GW)
  • “. . . who depend only on HIM . . .” (CEV)
  • “. . . who know they have great spiritual needs . . .” (NCV)
  • “The Lord God blesses everyone who trusts him and depends on him.” Psalm 146:5 (CEV)

TO BE “POOR IN SPIRIT” MEANS I humbly depend on God instead of my self

HOW DO I DO THIS?

1. I depend on God’s wisdom, not mine.

“There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.” Proverbs 14:12 (NIV)

Is better to listen to God than to listen to your gut.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in ALL you do, and he will direct your paths. Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead, respect the Lord and turn your back on evil.” Proverbs 3:5-7 (NLT)

I get God’s wisdom by reading his word and praying.

“If any of you lack wisdom, you should pray and ask God, who gives it generously and graciously to all.” James 1:5
God’s wisdom and will are in God’s book.

2. I depend on God’s strength, not mine.

“You bless all who depend on you for their strength.” Psalm 84:5a (CEV)

If your tired you’re either doing the wrong thing or doing the right thing the wrong way.

“Those who trust in the Lord for help will find their strength renewed. They will rise on wings like eagles; they will run and not get weary; they will walk and not grow weak.” Isaiah 40:31 (TEV)

“I walk in the strength of the Lord.” Psalm 71:16a (LB)

“My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart. He is mine forever!” Psalm 73:26 (NLT)

2 Corinthians 12:8-10

3. I depend on God’s timing, not mine.

“I trust in you, O Lord. You are my God. My times are in your hands.” Psalm 31:14-15a

Everything in life has seasons. One is the season of waiting. This is when we ask the when question.

“God has set the right time for everything.” Ecclesiastes 3:11a (TEV)

“I am the Lord, and when it is time, I will make these things happen quickly.” Isaiah 60:22b (NCV)

A delay is not a denial.

“I trust the Lord God to save me, and I will wait for him to answer my prayer.” Micah 7:7 (CEV)

4. I depend on God’s defense, not mine.

“God blesses and protects everyone who runs to him.” Psalm 2:12 (CEV)

Your are most like Christ when you let God handle your attackers.

“I depend on God alone; I put my hope in him. He alone protects and saves me; he is my defender, and I shall never be defeated. My salvation and honor depend on God; he is my strong protector; he is my shelter!” Psalm 62:5-7 (TEV)

5. I depend on God’s wealth, not mine.

“And my God will supply all my needs from his abundant wealth because of what Christ Jesus has done for us.” Philippians 4:19

My job is a channel but my God is my source.
A job can be taken from me but not God is permanent.


MY FIRST STEP IN EXPRESSING MY DEPENDENCE is BAPTISM.

“This is what happens in baptism. When we went under the water, we left the old sin behind and when we came up out of the water, we entered into a new life of grace. When we are lowered into the water, it is like the burial of Jesus; and when we are raised up out of the water, it is like the resurrection of Jesus. We are raised to live a new life.” Romans 6:3-5 (Mes/NLT)


Responder

